Go Back   Papua New Guinea Forum > General Category > Anything Goes > B4's Yarns

B4's Yarns Stories/Yarns from the past.....or yesteryear

Old 20-01-2008, 02:51 PM

Charles B is on a distinguished road
Life in PNG

HI, my name is Charles Betteridge and I was a resident of PNG for thirty years from April 1960 to April 1990. I worked for the Burns Philp Automotive group (which became Ela Motors in July 1969), in all those years.

I was in POM from April 1960 to April 1968 and again from 1987 to 1990, all other years spent in various locations with BP's/Ela Motors. I was in Madang 1968 and 1969, Lae 1969 to 1973, Kieta 1973 to 1974, Wewak 1974 to 1979, Mount Hagen 1979 to 1983, Lae 1983 to 1987, POM from 1987 to 1990 then returned to Australia to settle in the village of Modanville 10km north of Lismore in northern NSW. I did consultancy work for the BP/Toyota Group from 1993 to 2003 and visited PNG eleven times, Solomon Islands three times, Fiji nine times, Samoa, American Samoa and Tonga once each during those ten years.

When I was in POM between 1960 and 1968 I played hockey with the Paga Hockey Club, I also umpired both mens and womens hockey games at the P&T oval in Boroko, I joined the Judo Club in the year it started (1962) and was made a life member in 1968. I was one of its senior instructors from 1964 and I was the first person ever from PNG to train in the Headquarters of Judo, the Kodokan in Tokyo, for three months in 1965 gaining my Black Belt 1st Dan there.

There used to be a group of six of us from the Judo Club who all owned motor scooters and we, with our friends, would go "scootering" up to Sogeri, the Brown River, Taurama Beach and many other places on weekends, (it was quite safe to do it back then). What terrific days they were.